It’s here! Your first Brownie Of The Week!

_DA_9696_edit

Cinnamon rolls? Do you like them? Do you love them? Thick, puffy, warm, melt in your mouth? If you do, then this is the brownie recipe for you (I sound like a sales person, don’t I? πŸ™‚ ).

Even if you don’t, you may still find that this brownie appeals to you more than the best cinnamon roll. Like me. I like cinnamon rolls. I don’t really love them, and hardly crave them, but I’ll take them (as long as they’re the right kind). But these brownies? Oh, yeah!

Maybe you are wondering to what kind of brownie I am referring to? With all this talk about cinnamon rolls, there could only be one kind: Cinnamon Roll Brownies! Yep.

 

_DA_9677_edit

For these beauties, I am using an ingredient that I have given nothing but a hard time to my sister since she used them in some scones once twice, and that is cinnamon chips. Don’t know what I am talking about? They are these; I buy the Hershey ones, but I don’t know if there are any other brands out there.

After my sister used them in the scones, it’s been a big joke that she keeps threatening me to make them again * UPDATE: has made them again* (in case you couldn’t tell, they weren’t my favorite). The cinnamon chips and I just didn’t get along. But when it came time to construct a cinnamon roll brownie? Well, the chips and I had to patch up our differences. I did that which I thought I would not. I used them.

So now what can I say? The darn things worked!!

Let me give you the lowdown: A brownie with chocolate chips, a touch of cinnamon, cinnamon chips to boot, and a cream cheese frosting.

Sound good? Try them; they are really delicious and a fun spin on a breakfast favorite!

Cottura felice!

Notes

~ For the cream cheese frosting, feel free to use your favorite recipe as opposed to this one; I have also used one from Sally’s baking addiction and it was quite good.

~ Also, for the cream cheese frosting, you may need to add a little more confectioners’ sugar than what is called for – however, I had let my cream cheese get way too soft so that could have been the problem… πŸ™‚Β 

~Β Finally, for the baking times, you will have to be patient. There is a lot of chocolate chips in there so it can be kind of hard to tell when they are done!

Β Cinnamon Roll Brownies

For the brownies

1/2 C. (1 stick) butter, melted
1 1/2 C. granulated sugar
1 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract
2 eggs
3/4 C. all – purpose flour
1/2 C. unsweetened cocoa powder
1 tsp. ground cinnamon (maybe a little less, depending on how strong you like your cinnamon flavor)
1/2 tsp. kosher salt
3/4 C. semi sweet chocolate chips
1/2 C. cinnamon baking chips (I use Hershey brand)

Instructions

Preheat the oven to 350Β° F.Β Line an 8 x 8 inch baking dish with foil and spray with cooking spray. Set aside.

In a large bowl, combine the butter, sugar, and vanilla.

Using a whisk (or mixer), add in eggs one at a time, mixing well after each addition.

In a separate bowl, whisk together flour, cocoa powder, cinnamon, and salt.

Gradually, using a spatula, add the flour mixture to the egg mixture using a little bit of a folding motion until thoroughly combined.

Stir in the chocolate and cinnamon chips.

Pour batter into prepared dish and bake for 30 -35 minutes, or until moist crumbs stick to a toothpick when inserted.

Transfer brownies to a wire rack to cool.

Once brownies have cooled to room temperature (or at least not warm enough to melt the frosting) make the frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting

Ingredients

8 oz cream cheese, softened
1 1/2 tbsp. unsalted butter, sofetened
1 C. confectioners’ sugar
1 1/2 tbsp. sour cream

Instructions

Using an electric mixer on low speed, beat the cream cheese and butter until combined.

Add the confectioners’ sugar and sour cream and beat until blended well (about 2 minutes longer).

Spread evenly over the brownies and sprinkle with some ground cinnamon, if desired.

Store leftover brownies in the fridge. Bring to room temperature before eating.

Brownie recipe adapted from Brooke’s Best Bombshell Brownies and the Cream Cheese Frosting is from The Dessert Bible by Christopher Kimball

Leave a Reply

